What it’s like to play League of Legends – A Beginner’s Guide

League of Legends
Photo Source: games.openmandriva.org

League of Legends is a multiplayer online battle arena video game that was developed by RioT games and was first released for Microsoft PC and gaming laptops on October 27, 2009. Since then, the game has become one of the most played video games online and has received several awards throughout the years.  Riot Games then later organized its competition which would later be known as  League Championship Series.

Up to this day, the League of Legends continues to attract players from different parts of the world. And if you happen to be one of those interested to try out the game, then this is the perfect go-to-article that will guide you into the world of League of Legends.


League of Legends Gameplay
Photo Source: www.gamingcfg.com

In League of Legends, the player takes on the role of the “summoner” who can control “champions” with different abilities. Using these champions, players will battle it out against another team of players or computer-controlled champions. The games are consist of five versus five or three versus three battles, which are won if a team has successfully destroyed their opponent’s nexus.

The Nexus is the crystallized structure that lies in the center of the team’s base and is protected by several defense towers known as turrets. The game starts with each member of the team being summoned on their base and will start at level one. As the game progresses, the champions will level up as they accumulate items and experience over time.


League of Legends Champions
Photo Source: na.leagueoflegends.com

League of Legends currently has 132 champions that players can choose. Each champion varies in their designs and is brought to life by their unique lores. All of these champions are created to suit different roles including the assassin, marksman, support, tank, mage, and fighter. How you play these roles depends on your strategy.


league of legends champion abilities
Photo Source: www.gearhack.com

Each champion in the League of Legends has five unique abilities. Four of these skills can be unlocked and strengthen as the champion levels, while the fifth ability comes automatically with the champion and is usually a passive skill known as an innate ability.

The four abilities or spells can be cast by clicking the associated icons or using the spell’s hotkeys such as Q, W, E, and R, and targeting the enemy’s champion.


League of Legends items
Photo Source: leagueoflegends.wikia.com

Throughout the game, your champions will earn gold by killing minions, natural creeps, and enemy champions. You can use these gold coins to buy items which can help your champion grow stronger in the game since they grant bonuses. Each champion and play styles can excel by purchasing the right items. Several powerful items are also made by combining several smaller items.

Maps and Lanes

Maps and Lanes of League of Legends
Photo Source: promo.na.leagueoflegends.com

Currently, League of Legends has three maps available in the game, including:

  • Summoner’s Rift
  • Twisted Treeline
  • Howling Abyss

These maps each have different terrain and victory conditions. The most popular map in the game is Summoner’s Rift, which looks exactly like the main map found in DotA. Three roads connect your base to the enemy’s base, which is called lanes. For a team to win, they must be able to push down their lane into the enemy’s base and destroy their nexus.

Turrets and Inhibitors

LoL Turrets and Inhibitors
Photo Source: boosteria.org

Like it was stated earlier, your base is comprised of several structures aside from the Nexus. These towers include turrets and inhibitors. Turrets are powerful defensive structures that defend each lane. Turrets can attack their enemy minions and the enemy champion if they engage in a fight with your ally or your champion within range. The turret can also attack any enemy champion if it was the last target within range.

Inhibitors, on the other hand, are important structures located in your base. If these structures are destroyed, the enemy team will spawn super minions. These super minions are more powerful and can aid your team to victory.

So what now?

By keeping these things in mind, you can now play the game more confidently. Just don’t forget to play nicely and communicate with your teammates properly.

Enjoy playing, summoner!

Comments are closed.